Annual parish meeting January 31, 2016

The annual parish meeting of St. Martin-in-the-Fields Episcopal Church was at 12 pm on January 31, 2016. We elected vestry members and diocesan Convention representatives, reviewed the budget, looked back on a year of unprecedented growth in members, the budget and those who made a pledge. We heard where we are going together to reach more of our community and world. Some of the highlights included:

  • Significant growth in both the church and school
  • Additional staff has been added to help with our growth
  • Priority focus on
    • Pastoral care
    • Education – for adults, youth; many programs that fit the desires & needs of our members
  • The Outreach budget was doubled
  • We continue to be blessed by a large number of retired clergy who want to continue to minister and teach at our church

Many thanks to all who prepared for this meeting in committee work and with reports. Thank you to members of the Brotherhood of St. Andrew who helped with setup on Saturday. Thank you to all who helped with food preparation, and for the many hands who helped with cleanup and who made the parish hall ready for use by St. Martin’s Episcopal School the next day.

Paperless annual meeting & what this means for you

We moved toward a paperless meeting to be good stewards of all our resources and to provide materials for download (below). We provided printed budget summary and a few printed copies of nominee biographies, agendas, and slides on each table. All were encouraged to download materials before they came, and links to information were emailed, included in our weekly eNews, and published on Facebook.
Download each PDF and print if you wish; you may choose to print in black and white instead of color in your printer settings.

Vestry nominees

We filled five open Vestry positions. Nominees were  James Bedell, Linda Snow, Nancy Wieden, Kathy Wilkinson, and Joel Walker. All were elected. Learn more about who can serve on the Vestry and what a Vestry member does here.

Diocesan delegate nominees

We had six open positions for delegates to the November 11-12 Convention of our diocese. We had six nominees, and all were elected: Gregory Anderson, Susan Kleinwechter, Becky Snell, Linda Snow, Nancy Wieden and Joel Walker. Alternates elected were Kathy Bedell, Mary Beth Butler, Brandy Heckel, Marty Hitchcock, Joy Malmgren and Deneice Wood. Learn more about who can serve as a delegate and what a delegate does here.


Enjoy photos in this Flickr album or swipe through the photo gallery below.